

Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

January 15, 2024 Dear Editor / Head of Department,

## New ACTT Board mindful of Modern Education Landscape

The newly installed board of the Accreditation Council of Trinidad and Tobago (ACTT) has been reminded of the Ministry of Education's vision for modern, relevant, equitable and quality education across the local landscape. This as Dr. the Honourable Nyan Gadsby- Dolly, Minister of Education and Mrs. Simone Williams, Permanent Secretary (Ag), Ministry of Education both echoed these sentiments in welcoming the new and returning board members installed on, Friday 12<sup>th</sup> January, 2024 at the Ministry of Education's Head offices.

Returning Chairman, Dr. Ruby Alleyne, highlighted the global reality of "...the rise of artificial intelligence and the increase in online and blended learning," while giving the assurance that the board will do their due diligence and take their mandate seriously, standing for the highest standards of education in tertiary education in Trinidad and Tobago.

Acknowledging the new education landscape, Minister Gadsby-Dolly, pointed out the continued relevance of the ACTT as "quality (education) affects the outcome and the outcome affects our national development and way we are able to achieve those goals."

Members of the ACTT board who received their Instruments of Appointment at the installation ceremony, included six new members and represent a cross-section of professionals within the local tertiary education system. The ACTT Board comprises:

Dr. Ruby Alleyne - Chairman Ms. Delamae Wilson - Dep. Chairman

Dr. Casandra Harry

Ms. Kize-Ann Jones

Mrs. Maureen Giddings-Estwick Dr. Barbara Reynolds Member Mrs. Deborah Souza-Okpfabri Mr. Archibald Prime Ms. Pramatee Gajadhar Mrs. Lennon Ballah-Lashley Mr. Randy Monilal Mr. Curtis Floyd (Ex-officio)

-END-

Corporate Communications Ministry of Education <u>Corporate.communication@moe.gov.tt</u> 622-2181 Ext 1440