MEDIA RELEASE

January 8, 2024 Dear Editor / Head of Department,

Education Minister challenges new COSTAATT Board to positively impact future generations

Dr. the Honourable Nyan Gadsby-Dolly, Minister of Education (MOE), called for the newly installed board of the College of Science, Technology and Applied Arts of Trinidad and Tobago (COSTAATT) to "increase their market share in education for economic and national development, and thereby positively impact future generations." The call was made to the new twelve (12) member board of COSTAATT who received their Instruments of Appointment at the installation ceremony today, Monday 8th January, 2024, at the Ministry of Education's head office.

Chairman of the Board, Professor Brian Copeland, spoke to the pivotal role COSTAATT has and continues to play in improving the socio-economic state of Trinidad and Tobago. He expressed his enthusiasm at having an opportunity to serve and his gratitude to previous members of the Board. Professor Copeland reiterated the call made by the MoE's Permanent Secretary, Jacqueline Charles who, in her opening remarks, reminded the new board of the role they played in shaping the future of the nation by providing quality education in science and technology, vocational training and applied arts which has been long established as the guiding principles that lead COSTAATT.

Minister Gadsby-Dolly highlighted the importance of the work of COSTAATT in the tertiary education landscape. "This national community college model is critical to our nation's development. COSTAATT was created to serve the needs of students who may have experienced academic challenges; to give them a second chance at the tertiary level. That second chance is what would provide better opportunities and a brighter future."



The COSTAATT Board comprises:

- Prof. Brian Copeland Chairman
- Ms. Kathryn Christopher -Vice Chairman
- Dr. Sanjay Bahadoorsingh
- Ms. Jennifer Boucaud-Blake
- Ms. Sharon Applewhite
- Ms. Lynette Cox
- Ms. Tamera A. Jackson
- Mr. Winston Boodoo
- Mr. David Murphy
- Ms. Hayla-Anna Jordon
- Ms. Nickolette Steele
- Dr. Keith Nurse (Ex-officio)

-END-

Corporate Communications Ministry of Education Corporate.communication@moe.gov.tt 622-2181 Ext 1440

